LIVESTREAM: Kiev Bandits Set To Battle Minsk Zubrs in Ukrainian Championship Final

The championship final of the Ukrainian League of American Football takes place Saturday October 8 in Uzhhorod, Ukraine as the Minsk Zubrs who finished second in regular season play square off against the third place Kiev Bandits.

The Zubrs from Belarus, and the Bandits each won their semifinals as Minsk downed the Kiev Bulldogs 47-13 and Kiev surprised the Uzhhorod Lumberjacks 36-28.

The two teams faced each twice in the regular season and split the series 1-1. Minsk took the first game 18-16 earlier in the season in Belarus while the Bandits won the second game at home in Kiev 44-34.

Kiev had the highest scoring offense in the Ukraine in 2016 averaging 36.3 points a game. Minsk was right behind scoring an average of 35.3 points per contest.

This game could come down to defenses and that is where the Bandits have the edge. Kiev had the second best defense in the Ukraine this season surrendering 106 points in six games of 17.6 points a game. The Zubrs gave up 10 points more a game allowing 159 points in six games.

Big crowd expected

Organizers are expecting a crowd of upwards of 10,000 to watch the 2016 Ukrainian championship final.

Kickoff: Saturday October 8, 3 PM (2 PM CET, 8 AM EDT)

The game for third place starts at 12 Noon local time (11 AM CET, 5 AM EDT)

 

AFI
American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!
Skip to toolbar