Dublin Rebels rally to beat Carrickfergus Knights, win 2nd straight Irish title

The Dublin Rebels came from behind to down a tough Carrickfergus Knights squad 12-6  in Shamrock Bowl XXXI to win their second straight Irish title.

This was the Rebels ninth Shamrock Bowl victory and fourth against the Knights. This was the first time these two teams had faced each in the final since 2004, when the Rebels also won.

Running back Wello Omorodion rushed for 145 yards and one touchdown on 17 carries to pace Dublin but he also competed a 27 yard pass. Quarterback Andrew Dennehy completed five passes for 92 yards and a touchdown and also threw for another. Wide receiver Cathal Keane had three receptions for 62 yards and a touchdown.

Defensively, Dublin was led middle linebacker Ross McCooey,who recorded 6.5 tackles, one tackle for loss and a pass knockdown.

Dublin Rebels RB Wello Omorodion Photo: Terence McCann

The Carrickfergus Knights took a 6-0 lead on quarterback Spencer McDowell’s touchdown pass following a Josh Davis interception.

However, Dublin upped the tempo in the second half. Dennehy connected with Keane for a touchdown to level the score at 6-6. Then late in the third, running back Sean Douglas helped turn the tide returning a punt 50 yards to set up excellent field position for the Rebels. Omorodion’s powerful running finally paid off late as he scored the go ahead touchdown and the Rebel led 12-6.

The fourth quarter saw Dublin dominate play but neither team could score and the Rebels came away with their third straight Irish title.

Roger Kelly is an editor and a writer for AFI. A former PR Director the B.C. Lions of the Canadian Football League for 7 years, he now lives in Sweden writing about and scouting American Football throughout the world.