Historic First China Arena Football League Season One For The Ages

SHANGHAI, CHINA – November 6, 2016 – The first season of the China Arena Football League is in the books. The Beijing Lions won the first ever China Bowl with a game winning field goal from Patrick Clarke III to defeat the Qingdao Clipper 35 to 34. It was the first three pointer of the year for the All-Pro North selection and just the third field goal in the history of the league.

The final game saw the CAFL’s defensive MVP, Beijing defensive back Torez Jones, pick off two more passes to run his league leading total to eight. The Lions also amassed 17 turnovers during the season which was more than any other team. In the championship game, All-Pro North selection Collin Taylor caught three touchdown passes while teammate Chris Dieker accumulated game highs in receptions with nine and receiving yards with 107. Beijing finished a perfect 6-0 while Qingdao ended up 3-3 on the season.

In the third place game, the Shanghai Skywalkers (4-2) bested the Guangzhou Power (2-4), 57-52. The game featured the passing of the leagues’ offensive MVP, Shane Austin who tossed three touchdown pass to run his league best total to 35. He also ended the season with 1,436 yards which was most in the CAFL. By catching four TD passes Shaun Kauleinamuku, an All-Pro South selection, finished with the most TD receptions in the CAFL with 16. For Guangzhou, All-Pro South fullback Dashawn Johnson, carried 14 times for 63 yards and four touchdowns. His effort moved him up to second in league rushing yards with 277.

In the fifth place tilt, the Shenzhen Naja ran its record to a respectable 3-3 with 46 to 30 win over the Dalian Dragon Kings (0-6). Quarterback Dak Britt had quite a weekend. On Friday he was selected by the fans as the CAFL’s Dream Team Quarterback and also was named to the All-Pro South team. Against Dalian, he ran for 115 yards to become the first player in league history to have consecutive 100 yard rushing games. His totals of 14 rushing touchdowns and 475 yards were both league records.

Final Season Stats


Luke CollisBeijing12719465.43138128
Shane AustinShanghai12119163.55143635
Bryan RandallQingdao9416556.95128825
J.J. Raterink Guangzhou8214456.97115220
Dak BrittShenzhen7012755.1372416
Jawad YatimDalian6011358.336828
Phillip GarciaDalian296643.942664


Mike WashingtonShanghai4758615
Collin TaylorBeijing4558612
Reggia GrayQingdao4269113
Talib WiseDalian413905
Shaun KauleinamukuShanghai3747916
Duane BrooksGuangzhou 323254
Shuai Liu Shanghai293284
Erwin Sennett WuBeijing282765
Xavier BoyceQingdao283539
Lavasier TuineiGuangzhou2133711
James RomainBeijing212175
Xinhe XuShenzhen213017


Dak BrittShenzhen8247514
Dashawn JohnsonGuangzhou532778
Adrian FernsShenzhen 452403
Jawad Yatim Dalian231253
Philip GarciaDalian201112
David OkuDalian15832
Jason HolmanQingdao20771
Shane AustinShanghai18744
Rustin MayorgaBeijing14715
Shaun KauleinamukuShanghai8714

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!