Langley, BC, Canada to host 2017 IFAF Women’s World Championship

IFAF announces dates, locations for women’s American football premier event

Canada will host the third edition of the International Federation of American Football (IFAF) Women’s World Championship from June 24 – June 30, 2017 in Langley, British Columbia at McLeod Stadium. The event will be hosted by Football Canada in partnership with the British Columbia Provincial Football Association (BCPFA).

The six-team event features the top female tackle football players from around the world. Participating nations include the United States, the reigning and two-time women’s worlds gold medalist, the respective gold and silver European championship medalists, Finland and Great Britain, as well as Australia, Mexico, and host Canada.

“It’s really exciting to bring the Women’s World Championship to the province of British Columbia,” said Frank Naso, President of the British Columbia Provincial Football Association. “The venue is a great one which hosted events like the Canadian Bowl in the past and has the advantage of being able to accommodate the international field dimensions. We look forward to welcoming participating nations from around the world to Langley this summer and hope that a large contingent comes out to support Team Canada.”

The 2017 event will mark the first time that the Women’s World Championship is held outside of Europe as Sweden and Finland hosted the 2010 and 2013 events respectively. It also marks the first time that Canada will host a tackle football competition as the nation twice hosted the Flag Football World Championships in 2008 and 2010.

National teams from around the globe are happy dates and locations for the event have been settled. “We are excited to take part in the World Championship and would like to thank Football Canada on hosting the competition, said Finnish federation president Roope Noronen. “I am sure our hosts will organise an excellent event that all will enjoy.”

Team Finland head coach Mika Eloranta stated that his team is coming to British Columbia to win. “It’s a goal for our team to play for the medals. We have no prior experience with Mexico or Australia, but both are known countries on football map and especially Mexico has strong mens and youth teams,” said Eloranta. “To make it into medal rounds requires hard work and practise. I hope our players wanting to make the team have understood this because the competition to make the team will be tough this year as well.”

Canada is looking to build off a pair of silver medals and avenge consecutive gold medal game defeats at the hands of the U.S. in 2017. The host nation is led by an experienced coaching staff that returns head coach Jeff Yausie alongside respective defensive and special teams coordinators Pierre Migner and Olivier Eddie.

“I’ve previously had the chance to represent Canada at international competitions and I can tell you that it’s always a special feeling. This summer will be even more special for our team as they’ll get the chance to represent Canada on home soil for the first time. ” said Yausie.

The duo is joined by incoming offensive coordinator, Ryan Clutterbuck. The coaching staff also returns offensive line coach Chris Hengen-Braun while former Team Canada quarterback Saadia Ashraf is set to participate in her third women’s worlds as a first-time national team coach.

“Hosting the Women’s World Championships is a great honour,” said Kim Wudrick, President of Football Canada. “To do so during Canada’s 150 birthday is a tremendous way to celebrate our nation’s long football history as well as to promote the growth of women’s tackle football in Canada. I look forward to cheering Canada on alongside a loud and proud hometown crowd this summer.”

Follow American Football International for more information on particpating countries and events surrounding the 2017 IFAF Women’s World Championship in Canada.

Related: Football Canada adds five to Women’s National Team coaching staff

Related: Football Canada unveils 2017 Women’s National Team roster

IFAF Women’s World Championship History

Year Host site Gold medal game Bronze medal game
2010 Stockholm, Sweden U.S. def. Canada Finland def. Germany
2013 Vantaa, Finland U.S. def. Canada Finland def. Germany
2017 Langley, Canada TBD TBD


American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!