Legendary NFL Players Who Won the Super Bowl

The Super Bowl LV or the 55th Super Bowl was won comfortably and quite expectedly on February 7, 2021, by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. They won 31-9 against the Kansas City Chiefs at the Raymond James Stadium in Tampa Florida, led by MVP Tom Brady (quarterback).

This was certainly not the first time that the legendary quarterback managed to pull it off, although this was the first time that Brady did it for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and in his very first season with the team. With Super Bowl LVI coming up in a few months, let’s take a look back through time and shine the spotlight back on some of the legendary NFL players who won the Super Bowl for their respective teams.

Tom Brady (New England Patriots & Tampa Bay Buccaneers)

No list about Legendary players in the NFL can ever be complete without mentioning the living legend Tom Brady himself. While his feats are too numerous to be all named here, we will focus on some of his exclusive feats related only to the Super Bowl itself.

  • Brady is the only NFL player to have ever received the Super Bowl Most Valuable Player Award 5 times.
  • The oldest quarterback in the NFL is also the oldest quarterback to have ever won the MVP Award (LV)
  • Tom Brady became the first player ever to win the MVP Award while playing for two different teams.
  • He helped his teams win 7 Super Bowl Championships in total (XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX, XLIX, LI, LIII and LV).

Do you think the seasoned quarterback will be able to pull off something similar in 2022 as well? Perhaps you have another favourite in mind than the Tampa Bay Buccaneers for the Super Bowl LVI? Check out the NFL tips and predictions to put your good intuitions to use.

Joe Montana (San Francisco 49ers and Kansas City Chiefs)

Joe Montana’s slick 6’2”, 205lbs frame was legendary at the time, and he brought home 4 Super Bowl Titles (XVI, XIX, XXIII, and XXIV)) and 3 MVP (1982, 1985 & 1990) Awards while playing for the San Francisco 49ers. He is one of the only two NFL players to have ever won the MVP Award more than twice in NFL history, with the other being Brady. The former 49er is also a 2-time NFL Most Valuable Player Award winner. Known throughout his career as the calmest quarterback in NFL, the legend played just one season with the Kansas City Chiefs before retiring from pro football in 1994.

Bryan Bartlett Starr (Green Bay Packers)

While Bart Starr may have passed away, his legacy and contributions to the early days of the NFL will never be forgotten. He is one of the only 5 players to have ever won the Super Bowl Most Valuable Player Award more than once, and unlike the other two already mentioned, it was also the only two times that his team managed to win the Super Bowl during his career.

A 5-time NFL Champion (1961, 1962, 1965, 1966, 1967) and one-time NFL MVP (1966), Bart Starr is considered by many to be one of the greatest quarterbacks in the history of pro football. Winning both the 1st and the 2nd Super Bowl, Bryan Bartlett Starr is the original legend of the NFL.

Terry Bradshaw (Pittsburgh Steelers)

Terry Bradshaw played as the permanent quarterback for the Pittsburgh Steelers every year from 1970 to 1983. During his time with the Steelers, Bradshaw led them to 4 Super Bowl victories (IX, X, XIII & XIV), including two consecutive wins in 1975 and 1976. (IX & X). He became the MVP of Super Bowl XIII & XIV. Terry Bradshaw was also given the NFL MVP Award in 1978, and his own team’s respect for him was made evident when he was given a permanent position within the Pittsburgh Steelers Hall of Honor and All-Time Team later.

Eli Manning deserves a mention on this list as well because he is by no means short of being legendary for his feats. The New York Giant is one of the only five players in the NFL to have been titled as the Super Bowl MVP twice or more (XLII, XLVI).

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!