Northern European Football League – NEFL – Announces Schedule

Reigning champions from Great Britian, Finland, Sweden join club tournament

The International Federation of American Football (New York), has announced the launch of their version of a 2017 European Club Championship – the Northern European Football League – NEFL, and it features five clubs from four nations.

The NEFL will feature leading teams from Denmark, Sweden, Finland and Great Britain going head to head, all with their sights set on the NEFL Championship title.

Representing Great Britain will be the reigning BritBowl Champions, the London Warriors.

For the Warriors, led by legendary Head Coach Tony Allen, this will be their first foray into a European club championship although they have previously taken part in the Battle for Tirol in Austria playing the Swarco Raiders in 2015. The Warriors also played an exhibition against the Frankfurt Universe that same year.

Alongside the London club in the NEFL are some of northern Europe’s powerhouse club sides. The seven-time and defending champions of Sweden, the Carlstad Crusaders are joined by their Finnish counterparts, the Helsinki Roosters, as well as fellow Swedish side the Uppsala 86ers along with multi Danish champions, the Copenhagen Towers.

The league structure sees the five teams split into two groups.

London, Copenhagen and Carlstad will feature in the NEFL West with Helsinki and Uppsala comprising the NEFL East.

The winner of each group will play for the NEFL Championship on the weekend of May 20-21.

The winner of the NEFL West will host the Championship Game.

NEFL West                                                                             NEFL East

Carlstad Crusaders                                                                Helsinki Roosters
London Warriors                                                                     Uppsala 86ers
Copenhagen Towers

Schedule                                                                              Schedule
April 1, 13:00 Copenhagen(Home)-Carlstad                      April 1, 12:30 Helsinki (Home)-Uppsala

April 22, (TBD) London (Home)-Copenhagen                  April 23, 14:00 Uppsala (Home)-Helsinki

May 6, 13:00 Carlstad (Home) – London

May 20–21 NEFL Championship

*Winner of NEFL West has home field in NEFL Championship Game.

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!