7 Top-Performing NCAAF Teams in the Last Decade

Approximately, there are 898 college football teams in the United States. However, only a few universities and colleges are known for producing the best actions in the National Collegiate Athletic Association Football (NCAAF).

While fans have different favorite teams in the league, the impressive statistics of the following teams would make the best NCAAF teams in the last decade.

Florida State Seminoles

Representing Florida State University, the Florida State Seminoles has locked in its most recent national championship in 2013. Quarterback Jamies Winston earned the Heisman Trophy, Walter Camp Award, and the Archie Griffin Award that year. Moreover, he was also named the AP Player of the Year in the same season.

Moreover, the Seminoles claimed three straight conference and division titles from 2012 to 2014. Notably, in 2013, the Seminoles beat Clemson Tigers in their territory. In 2016, the Seminoles also won against Miami in the fourth quarter when defensive end DeMarcus Walker blocked the extra point, giving the team a one-point lead in the final score.

Georgia Bulldogs

Oklahoma Sooners Football had its first season in 1892. The team has progressed to become the most powerful squad in the NCAAF. The Bulldogs have been dominating the NCAAF National Championship odds in the recent decade. In fact, they have secured the 2021 and 2022 national title.

Additionally, Georgia Bulldogs have 16 conference championships, including 14 SEC championships. They also appeared in 61 bowl games in North America. In history, the program has played 860 games.

Alabama Crimson Tide

Alabama Crimson Tide has been playing since 1892. Representing the University of Alabama, the squad has earned many awards. They won the 2015 Cotton Bowl and CFP National Championship, the 2016 Peach Bowl, the 2017 Sugar Bowl and CFP National Championship, the 2018 Orange Bowl, the 2019 Citrus Bowl, the 2020 Rose Bowl, and CFP National Championship, the 2021 Cotton Bowl, and the 2022 Sugar Bowl.

The squad impressively finished the 2015 and 2017 regular season 11-1. In 2020, the Crimson Tide finished the regular season 10–0, won the SEC Western Division title, and defeated  Florida in SEC Championship.

Auburn Tigers

Representing Auburn University in football, the Auburn Tigers made headlines in the last decade. Defensive guard  Derrick Brown won the Lott IMPACT Trophy as Defensive IMPACT player in 2019. Center Reese Dismukes also won the Rimington Trophy as Best Center in 2014.

One of the team’s greatest feats in the decade is when they finished the 2013 regular season with an 11–1 record by beating then #1 Alabama. This led to Coach  Gus Malzahn winning the Coach of the Year in the Paul “Bear” Bryant Award in 2013, while coach  Gus Malzahn was awarded the Coach of the Year in and received the Eddie Robinson Award, Sporting News Award, Home Depot Award, and Bowden Award in 2013.

Ohio State Buckeyes

Ohio State Buckeyes, representing Ohio State University, debuted in 1890. For the record, the squad has won eight national championships, 41 conference championships, and 10 division championships. Their recent playoff appearances of the decade were in 2014, 2016, 2019, 2020, and 2022. They earned two Big Ten titles in 2019 and 2020 under the direction of coach  Ryan Day.

In 2017, Ohio State Buckeyes was valued at $1.5 – 2 billion, making them the program with the highest valuation in the country.

Clemson Tigers

Clemson Tigers, representing Clemson University, South Carolina, made their recent playoff appearances in 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020. Moreover, the squad was a national finalist in 2015, 2016, 2018, and 2019, recently claiming the 2016 and 2018 titles. They have also recently secured 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2022 division titles.

In 2017, former Tigers head coach Danny Ford and former runningback Clifford Spillers were inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Texas Longhorns

Competing in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision, the Texan Longhorns collegiate football team has over 900 wins. The Texas Longhorns rank 3rd on the all-time wins and 7th on win–loss records lists. As of this writing, they have 32 conference championships, four national championships, and 100 First Team All-Americans. In the last decade, the program was a national finalist in 2009.

For individual players awards in Big 12, wide receiver Xavier Worthy received Offensive Freshman of the Year in 2021. In addition, defensive back Caden Sterns was also named the Defensive Freshman of the Year in 2018, while defensive lineman Charles Omenihu was awarded the Defensive Lineman of the Year in the same year. Poona Ford and Charles Omenihu were also named the Defensive Lineman of the Year in 2017 and 2018, respectively.

Final Thoughts

Avid football fans have their bets in collegiate football. Every season, there will be many twists and turns that would shock fans. Some legendary programs in the last decade can lower rank, and some underdogs could climb the hierarchy. We will never know what’s coming next. What we can do is keep ourselves informed as we follow every season of NCAAF.

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!