IFAF 2019 Women’s European Championships set to get underway

The 2019 IFAF Women’s European Championships kick off Monday, August 12 at  John Charles Stadium, in Leeds, England.

The tournament will feature four of the top women’s national programs in Europe: the defending champions, Team Finland as well as Sweden, Austria and the host country, Great Britain.

The event will be staged as a round-robin tournament, with each team playing each other once. This means each team will play three games across the course of just six days, with the top team raising the second-ever IFAF Women’s European title.

The first Women’s European Championship was held in Granada, Spain in 2015 with Finland capturing the title, defeating Great Britain in the final.

Will Finland be able to defend that title they earned in convincing fashion?

Or will the host team, the British Lions, build upon their success with a fourth-place finish at the 2017 Women’s World Championship to lift their first international title? Great Britain upset the Finns in the World Championships, beating them 27-21.

Finally, both Austria and Sweden enter the tournament as long-established contenders.

Tournament schedule

Monday 12 August
3 pm/1500 | Finland vs Austria
7 pm/1900 | Great Britain vs Sweden

Wednesday 14 August
3 pm/1500 | Finland vs Sweden
7 pm/1900 | Great Britain vs Austria

Saturday 17 August
3 pm/1500 | Sweden vs Austria
7 pm/1900 | Great Britain vs Finland

All the games will be livestreamed.

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!