IFAF NY 2017 Women’s World Championship set to kick off in Langley, Canada

The IFAF NY 2017 Women’s World Championships kick off  this Friday, June 24 in Langley, B.C., Canada with three games.

This is the third edition of this tournament and the first time it has been hosted in North America. The inaugural 2010 event was held in Sweden while the 2013 edition took place in Finland.

Six of the top women’s teams in the world will battle

Team Canada opens the 2017 tournament facing Commonwealth rival, Australia. The host nation enters the third Women’s World Championship looking to improve upon a pair of silver medals. Australia is led by head coach Dr. Jen Welter, the first female coach in the NFL.

The United States kicks off its quest for a third straight IFAF Women’s World Championship title on June 24 as they open the competition against first time tournament participant Mexico. The United States has won each of the first two editions of the event, securing their last crown by defeating Canada in 2013.

The final opening day match-up sees a replay of the 2015 European Championship final between Finland and Great Britain. Finland, who placed third in both 2010 and 2013, defeated Great Britain 50-12 to win the European title in 2015. The Great Britain Lions are also making their debut in the Women’s World Championship.

Full schedule

June 24 – Game Day 1

Time (PDT)Matchup
11:30 amGreat Britain (4) vs. Finland (3)
3:30 pmUnited States (1) v Mexico (6)
7:30 pmAustralia (5) vs. Canada (2)

June 27 – Game Day 2

Time (PDT)Matchup
11:30 amMexico (6) vs. Australia (5)
3:30 pmLoser of Finland / Great Britain vs. United States
7:30 pmWinner of Finland / Great Britain vs. Canada

June 30 – Game Day 3

Teams will progress to the final game day based upon their records in the previous two game days.

Time (PDT)Matchup
11:30 am5th place game
3:30 pmBronze medal game
7:30 pmGold medal game

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!