LIVESTREAM: 2018 IFAF Flag Football World Championship, August 9, 8a US Central time (3p CET, 9a ET)

The IFAF Flag Football World Championship tournament kicks off today, Thursday, August 9, in Panama, with 18 games on the schedule.

All the games will be played on three different fields, Under Armour Field, IHOP Field and Subway Field.

The men’s favorite, Team USA will face India in their opening game at 8 AM central time (9 AM Eastern, 3 PM Central European) on Under Armour Field while Canada squares off against Israel on IHOP Field and Denmark takes on Mexico on Subway Field.

On the women’s side, team Mexico and Austria will face each other in the opening game at 9:15 AM central time (10:15 AM Eastern, 4:15 PM Central European) on Under Armour Field. At the same time, the pre-tournament favorites, Panama, face the Czech Republic on IHOP Field while the United States and Israel tangle on Subway Field.

Check out our preview of the tournament here.


Men’s groupings and ranks

Men’s Division

Participating countries:

Group A – Austria, India, Japan, Panama, USA

Group B – Canada, Denmark, Guatemala, Israel, Mexico

Favorite: The USA has won 3 out of the last 4 FFWC tournaments and have assembled their most talented team yet for this year’s Flag Football World Championship. U.S. National Team veteran quarterback Jorge Cascudo is surrounded by versatile athletes who will challenge opposing defenses with their speed and agility. Stopping Team USA on offense will be half the battle as their defense returns four players from the 2016 gold medal winning squad and will play an aggressive style that creates turnovers and makes points hard to come by for opposing teams.

Top Challengers: No team has won more FFWC medals (5) than Denmark. The five-time defending European champions are led by Europe’s best wide receiver Jonas Bo Hansen and will be looking to avenge their heartbreaking 2016 gold medal loss (33-32) to their rivals from the U.S. Also looking to knock off Team USA are North American counterparts Canada and Mexico who bi-annually field championship worthy selections for the FFWC.

Keep Your Eye On: Austria, the only team to defeat the USA in the FFWC since 2010 (47-40 in the 2012 gold medal game). The Austrians have as many FFWC gold medals (3) as the Americans and are not afraid of the challenge that awaits them in group play. Panama, with home field advantage and an improved men’s team, will be a difficult matchup for anyone they play.

Women’s groupings and ranks


Women’s Division

Participating countries:

Group A – Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Guatemala, Japan, Panama

Group B – Austria, Denmark, Israel, Mexico, USA

Favorite: After winning the only women’s team gold medal (any sport) in their nation’s history, the Panama women have been preparing to defend their title for two years and will have the opportunity to do so on home turf. Led by 2016 FFWC Most Valuable Player, wide receiver Angela Evans, and a host of players returning from the gold medal winning squad, Panama is the team to beat in 2018.

Top Challengers: Group B, the FFWC’s group of death, includes Panama’s most likely challengers – Austria, Mexico and USA. Austria is the defending silver medalists and have been the best women’s team in Europe for nearly a decade. The core of the Austrian national team has played together since 2010, medaling in 3 of the last 4 FFWC events (silver in 2016 and bronze in 2010 and 2014) and will look to dethrone the Panamanians. Also lurking is the most decorated women’s national team in IFAF history, Mexico (3 gold medals), who will be eager to improve on their bronze medal finish in 2016 after a disappointing 4th place in 2014. Finally, the USA who, like the men’s team, are fielding their strongest women’s national team to date and hoping to rebound from a lackluster 5th place finish in 2016 to claim their first ever IFAF FFWC gold medal.

Keep Your Eye On: Canada, after winning gold in 2014, fell to 4th place in 2016. Winners of gold in 2 out of the last 4 FFWC tournaments, the Canadian women will aim to challenge Panama for the top spot in Group A. Brazil, with a booming flag football population, should continue to take steps towards competing with the top women’s teams in the world.

Watch the games live here. IFAF World Flag Championships, August 9, 8a US Central time (3p CET, 9a ET)


American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!