LIVESTREAM Finland: Women’s final – Helsinki Wolverines v. Tampere Saints, Sept. 5, 13:00 EEST (12:00 CET, 6 am ET)

The Championship Final of the Women’s Maple League in Finland is set for today, Saturday, September 5 as the Helsinki Wolverines take on the Tampere Saints.

Finland’s Women’s Maple League featured only four teams for the shortened 2020 season, the Helsinki Wolverines, Tampere Saints, Turku Trojans and the West Coast Phoenix.

The Saints, Trojans and Wolverines all finished with 2-1 records with the West Coast Phoenix ending without a win.

Helsinki Wolverines v. Tampere Saints, Sept. 5, 13:00 EEST (12:00 CET, 6 am ET)

The Wolverines reached the final by beating Turku 14-6 in the semifinal. The Saints defeated the Phoenix in the other semifinal 26-20.

Helsinki has won three straight Finnish titles and the last time they did not was 2017. Surprisingly, the Wolverines lost to the Tampere Saints in the final round game leaving three teams tied with 2-1 records in the standings.  The Saints had the most away wins and  so finished first in the standings.

The Wolverines are led by one of the leading rushers in the league, Tytti Kuusinen who rushed for 272 yards in three games.

For Tampere, on offense, quarterback Emilia Raty is the key. She threw for 321 yards in the regular season while rushing for 139 and accounting for six touchdowns in total.

Watch the game live here. Helsinki Wolverines v. Tampere Saints, Sept. 5, 13:00 EEST (12:00 CET, 6 am ET)

Helsinki Wolverines starting lineups and roster (Click images to enlarge)

Tampere Saints starting lineups and roster (Click images to enlarge)

AFI
American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!
Skip to toolbar