Portugal announces 2017/2018 schedule

The Liga Portuguesa de Futebol Americano (LPFA) has released its schedule for 2017/2018 with the league set to start November 4. This will be the ninth edition since the inception of the LPFA.

There are 10 teams vying for the title with the two-time defending champion Lisboa Devils as the preseason favorite to capture their third straight championship. Two new teams have joined the top league, the Evora Eagles in the South and the Portuscale Dragons in the North.  The rest of the North division consists of the Braga Warriors, Braga Black Knights, Porto Mutts and Paredes Lumberjacks. The Dragons were formed from the now-defunct Maia Renegades who disbanded after a highly successful season last year due to internal strife.

In the South, the Eagles will battle with the Devils as well as the Lisbon Crusaders, Lisboa Navigators and Algarve Sharks.

2017/2018 Portuguese schedule







American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!