Austria’s Bernard Raimann earns spot on Senior Bowl All-American squad

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. – Central Michigan’s Bernhard Raimann has been selected to the Senior Bowl All-American Team.

Raimann, who will play in the Reese’s Senior Bowl in Mobile, Ala. on Feb. 5, 2022, was named a Senior Bowl All-American by the game’s organizers.

This marks the third year that the Senior Bowl has named an All-American Team, which comprises draft-eligible players who have been selected to play in the annual college all-star game.

It is the latest in a slew of individual honors for Raimann, a junior offensive tackle from Steinbrunn, Austria, who came to the United States as a high school foreign exchange student and joined the CMU program in 2018 as a tight end.

He moved to tackle before the 2019 season and has developed into a top NFL prospect at the position.

Raimann was named First Team All-Mid-American Conference after leading an offensive line that paved the way for running back Lew Nichols III to rush for an NCAA-best 1,710 yards in the 2021 season.

Raimann was also named First Team All-MAC and the MAC Offensive Player of the Year by Pro Football Focus.

Earlier this season, he earned a spot on the College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-District squad, making him eligible for Academic All-America honors.

Raimann is working toward a Master’s of Science in Administration after earning a bachelor of science degree with a double major in actuarial science and statistics, graduating with a 3.80 grade point average.

He is a two-time Academic All-MAC honoree, received the prestigious MAC Medal of Excellence last June, and is a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, which goes to an individual as the best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance, and exemplary leadership.

Read the original story on the Central Michigan Athletics website.

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!