Restructured Italian Football League Kicks Off In March

The Italian Football League (IFL) has announced a new structure as 12 teams will participate in the 2015 IFL Championship season in two divisions – North and South – and not one as in 2014.

Italy’s top American football league will culminate with Super Bowl XXXV in Milan at Vigorelli Stadium on American Independence Day, July 4, 2015.

Milano Seamen champ. pic

Milano Seamen 2014 Champions

The season will kick off the week of March 7th. The league is to be divided into a regional championship with two groups, North and South. Last year’s championship opponents the Milano Seamen (champions) and the Parma Panthers will both play in the North Group.

With the return of the Roma Grizzlies to the top division to make it a 12 team league, the historic, and fierce,  inter Rome rivalry will be renewed as the Lazio Marines, also from Rome, will be in the same division.

IFLNorth Division:

Bolzano Giants
Torino Giaguari
Bergamo Lions
Parma Panthers
Milano Rhinos
Milano Seamen

South Division:

Ferrara Aquile
Napoli Briganti
Ancona Dolphins
Roma Grizzlies
Lazio Marines
Bologna Warriors

John McKeon is a former professional and collegiate American Football player and coach now living and working in New York. His goal is to spread news, information, and opinion on the global growth of the sport he loves.