Spanish American Football League set to kick off

The LNFA Serie A, Spain’s top league, will enter the 2019 season with 12 teams led by defending and nine-time Spanish champions, the Badalona Dracs.

The regular season, which winds up on April 7, kicks off this weekend with a slate of six games as all 12 teams will be in action.

The league has been divided into three conferences the Northwest Conference, Northeast Conference and Southern Conference.

Northwest Conference:

Coslada Camioneros, Gijón Mariners, Osos Rivas and Santiago Black Ravens.

Northeast Conference:

Badalona Dracs, Mallorca Voltors, Valencia Firebats and newcomers, the Zaragoza Hurricanes.

Southern Conference:

Granada Lions, LG OLED Las Rozas Black Demons, Murcia Cobras and another newcomer, the Fuengirola Colts.

Each team will face their conference rivals twice, home and away, and also play two non-conference games.

The top eight teams will qualify for the playoffs which will start with the quarterfinals on the weekend of April 27/28.

Interestingly, the Southern Conference contains two of the four 2018 semifinalists, the LG OLED Las Rozas Black Demons and the Murcia Cobras. The Northwest Conference had one team in last season’s semifinals, the Osos Rivas from Madrid, while the Badalona Dracs, the fourth semifinal team and defending champions, play in the Northeast Conference.

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!