Barbarians Capture 2015 Uruguayan Championship

The Barbarians broke a scoreless halftime tie in the Uruguayan championship game scoring 16 second half points to defeat the Emperors 16-0 and capture their fourth 2015 Uruguayan national championship title since 2005.

As the top two teams in the regular season it was only fitting these two would meet in the final. But defenses ruled the day,particularly in the first half as neither team came close to scoring until late in the second quarter when the Barbarians drove deep into Emperor territory before running out of time.

The Barbarians second half opened with a field goal from the foot of Gerson Pereyra. Then the Barbarians ground game finally began paying off as both Matias Costa and Guillermo Troytiño scored touchdowns in the fourth quarter.

Uruguay - Barbarians champions

Down two possessions, the Emperors took to the air as quarterback Michael Ellis began picking apart the Barbarians secondary. However, it was too little too late as the Barbarians held on for the win.


The Barbarians have won four LUFA titles since the inception of the league in 2005. The league was founded and partly funded through the efforts of a group of US Marines stationed in Uruguay along with equipment manufacturer Riddell Inc.

Uruguayan Champions

2014Golden Bulls/Barbarians
2009Golden Bulls
2006Golden Bulls

Link to original article.

Roger Kelly is an editor and a writer for AFI. A former PR Director the B.C. Lions of the Canadian Football League for 7 years, he now lives in Sweden writing about and scouting American Football throughout the world.