Hamilton’s Brandon Banks named CFL’s Most Outstanding Player

CALGARY (November 21, 2019) – On a night where the league’s biggest stars were celebrated at the Shaw CFL Awards, Hamilton Tiger-Cats receiver Brandon Banks emerged with the league’s top honor as the 2019 Most Outstanding Player.

Hamilton led the way with four winners of its five nominations, including Banks. The Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Montreal Alouettes and Calgary Stampeders were each represented by one player in the winners’ circle.

Banks guided the Hamilton Tiger-Cats to a new franchise-record with 15 victories. He led the league in receptions (112 – also setting a new team mark), receiving yards (1,550), receiving touchdowns (13) and touchdowns scored (16). The Kansas State alum showcased his versatility by scoring touchdowns in three different ways: receiving, rushing and via kick return.

Banks topped the league in games with 100+ receiving yards (eight), yards after catch (657) and receptions of 20+ yards (21). The Garner, N.C., native finished third with 2,029 combined yards and second in yards from scrimmage with 1,606.

Banks’s prolific season came despite the loss of Hamilton’s starting quarterback, Jeremiah Masoli, in the sixth game of the season. Second-year pivot, Dane Evans, stepped into the role and Banks’s combination of skill and speed ensured the transition was seamless.

The 31-year-old becomes the fifth Tiger-Cat to win Most Outstanding Player, joining Danny McManus (1999), Jimmy Edwards (1977), Garney Henley (1972) and Bernie Faloney (1961). He is the ninth receiver to win the award and the first since Chad Owens in 2012.

This is Banks’s second CFL award, having claimed Most Outstanding Special Teams player in 2015.


Most Outstanding Player: Brandon Banks, Receiver, Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Most Outstanding Defensive Player: Willie Jefferson, Defensive Lineman, Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Most Outstanding Canadian: Henoc Muamba, Linebacker, Montreal Alouettes
Nissan TITAN Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Chris Van Zeyl, Offensive lineman, Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Most Outstanding Special Teams Player: Frankie Williams, Returner, Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Most Outstanding Rookie: Nate Holley, Linebacker, Calgary Stampeders
Coach of the Year: Orlondo Steinauer, Hamilton Tiger-Cats

The winners were selected by a panel of voters, including representation from the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) from all nine CFL markets, members of the national chapter of the FRC and the head coaches of the CFL. In total, 50 ballots were completed.


Today's CFL is more than just our great game of football. It's fans sharing their excitement for what they see on the field, and what they experience off it. Stay up to date on all the non-stop action at CFL.ca.