25 Canadians set to play in Mexico’s LFA in 2020

Twenty-five players from across the nation have been selected in the first-ever LFA Canadian Draft. These players will now have the opportunity to hone their skills and continue their development against Mexico’s best while competing in the country’s premier professional league. The Draft is the latest step in the continuing partnership between the Canadian Football League (CFL) and the Liga de Fútbol Americano Profesional (LFA).

The eight LFA teams will hold reserved roster spots for Canadians in the upcoming 2020 season. The player pool was comprised of the top Canadian CFL free agents who had previously indicated a desire to play in Mexico.

With the historic first overall selection, the Saltillo Dinos selected offensive lineman Ben Koczwara from London, Ont. The former Waterloo Warrior was previously selected in the eighth round of the 2018 CFL Draft by the Winnipeg Blue Bombers. Rounding out the Top-5 picks were offensive lineman Jacob Czaja, defensive back Jeremy Fagnan, quarterback Graham Kelly and defensive back Nick Parisotto.

Of the 25 selected-players, seven were former CFL picks, including wide receiver Alex Morrison who was drafted in the fourth round at No. 29 by Montreal in 2017, defensive back Elroy Douglas who was a 2016 fifth-round pick by Hamilton and 2017 Winnipeg sixth-rounder Ian Marouf.

As the CFL continues to deepen its international footprint and introduce new pathways for Canadians to play, it has also partnered with the leading gridiron football federations and leagues in Austria, Great Britain, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Norway and Sweden, and is in discussions with others.

In much the same way, the 2019 season saw the CFL feature designated ‘global players’ from countries outside the U.S. and Canada on each of its nine member clubs – a first for the league. Next season, the number of global players per team will grow from up-to-three to as many as five.


Pick Team Name Pos School
1 Saltillo Dinos Ben Koczwara OL Waterloo
2 Monterrey Fundidores Jacob Czaja OL St. Francis Xavier
3 Querétaro Pioneros Jeremy Fagnan DB St. Francis Xavier
4 Naucalpan Raptors Graham Kelly QB Mount Allison
5 Mexico City Condors Nick Parisotto DB Guelph
6 Mexico City Mexicas Alex Morrison WR UBC
7 Toluca Osos Ian Marouf DL Guelph
8 Saltillo Dinos Bryce Vieira RB Ottawa
9 Puebla City Artilleros Zacary Alexis DB Montreal
10 Monterrey Fundidores Elijah Watson OL Carleton
11 Querétaro Pioneros Drew Morris LB Acadia
12 Naucalpan Raptors Zeph Fraser WR Guelph
13 Mexico City Condors Dallas Boath WR Calgary
14 Mexico City Mexicas Lautaro Frecha DB Waterloo
15 Toluca Osos Mandella Loggale DB Saint Mary’s
16 Saltillo Dinos Jordan Ngantsi DB Bishop’s
17 Puebla City Artilleros Elroy Douglas DB Missouri Western St.
18 Naucalpan Raptors Brad Friesen LB UBC
19 Mexico City Condors Brendon Thera-Plamondon WR Calgary
20 Mexico City Mexicas Archelaus Jack WR Saint Mary’s
21 Saltillo Dinos Jimmie Cunningham DL St. Francis Xavier
22 Monterrey Fundidores Brad Mikoluff K/P Manitoba
23 Mexico City Condors Shaun Robinson DE/LB Mount Allison
24 Mexico City Mexicas Dylan Schrot WR Manitoba
25 Saltillo Dinos David Steeves LB Trinity Bible College

Today's CFL is more than just our great game of football. It's fans sharing their excitement for what they see on the field, and what they experience off it. Stay up to date on all the non-stop action at CFL.ca.