Campeonato Brasileiro de Futebol Americano (CBFA) Kicks Off 2nd Season!

Thirty-three teams from 23 cities, 17 states, and 5 regions of Brazil will fight to become Brazilian Champions.

Today, Saturday June 29th, starts the second Campeonato Brasileiro de Futebol Americano (CBFA) or Championship of Brazilian American Football.  Thirty-three teams from 23 cities, 17 states and 5 regions of Brazil will fight to become the Brazilian Champions.

CFAB Flag New Season

New this year is the addition of two teams to the Northern Conference, the Manaus Cavaliers of Amazonas and Titans FA of Pará.

The Northeastern Conference, which made its national debut last year, comes back strong with 14 teams from 7 different states including the Northeast Conference champion Joao Pessoa Spectra, who are favored to return to the top of the table.

The 2012 Brazilian champion Cuiaba Arsenal remain the team to beat in the Central Conference. In the South Conference the Brazil Bowl runners-up, the Coritiba Crocodiles, would like to return to the final, but this time leave with the title.

In this weekend’s matches, the Northeast Conference champion Cuiaba Arsenal host the Sinop Coyotes in Mato Grosso  and on Sunday the Pantanal Caimans, home in Campo Grande, host the Rio Preto Weilers.

For full Conference tables visit AFAB Online.

Source credit to Danilo Muller at CBFA.

John McKeon is a former professional and collegiate American Football player and coach now living and working in New York. His goal is to spread news, information, and opinion on the global growth of the sport he loves.