IFAF 2019 U19 European Championship schedule

The International Federation of American Football has announced the final schedule for the IFAF 2019 Men’s U19 European Championships to be held in Bologna, Italy from July 29 to August 4, 2019.

The Netherlands, who were originally slated to face Austria in the quarterfinals matchups, have withdrawn and in their place Team Spain has stepped in.

With this, the field is now set.

With the host team, Italy, and the top three ranked teams based on the results of the previous European U19 ChampionshipsSweden, Denmark and Austria, having automatically qualified for the tournament, the remaining eight teams played in a qualifying round.

Following the qualifying round which saw Norway upset Great Britain, Finland crush Russia 69-0Holland get by Spain 15-9 and France earn a forfeit win over Slovakia, the field had been whittled down to the final eight but now Spain takes the place of the Dutch.

The matchups are as follows:

July 29

Game A 21.00: Sweden, #1 vs. Norway, #8 C.S. Bernardi stadium
Game B 17.00: Austria#2 vs. Spain #7 Arcoveggio Stadium
Game C: 21.00 Denmark#3 vs. Italy#6 Arcoveggio Stadium
Game D: 17.00 France#4 vs. Finland#5 C.S. Bernardi stadium

August 1

Game E 21.00 Winner Game A vs. Winner Game D C.S. Bernardi stadium
Game F 21.00 Winner Game B vs. Winner Game C Arcoveggio Stadium
Game G 17.00 Loser Game D vs. Loser Game A C.S. Bernardi stadium
Game H 17.00 Loser Game C vs. Loser Game B Arcoveggio Stadium

August 4

Final 21.00:    Winner Game E vs. Winner Game F Arcoveggio Stadium
Bronze game: 17.00 Loser Game F vs. Loser Game E Arcoveggio Stadium
5th place: 12.30 Winner Game G vs. Winner Game H C.S. Bernardi stadium
7th place 9.00 am Loser Game H vs. Loser Game G C.S. Bernardi stadium

The number one seeded Team Sweden will face Norway #8, the Austrians #2 will take on Holland #7,  Denmark, ranked #3 will play the host country Italy #6 while Team France #4 and Finland #5 will square off.

This is the 14th edition of the U19 European Championships which have been held biannually since 1992. Austria has won the title four times, Germany and Finland three times each, Franceand Sweden twice while Russia has captured the title once.

For more information on the IFAF 2019 U19 European Championships, visit the website by clicking here.



American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!