IFAF announces eight teams for Women’s World Championship

The International Federation of American Football, IFAF, has named the eight women’s national teams that will compete for the 2022 IFAF World Championship, set to take place this July and August in Finland.

The stellar lineup will include the host nation and defending European Champion Finland, along with the reigning World Champions, Team USA. They will be joined by the 2017 World Championship silver and bronze medalists, Canada and Mexico, as well as the 2019 European silver and bronze medalists, Sweden and Great Britain, the 2015 European bronze medalists, Germany, and Australia, which was coached at the 2017 World Championship by Dr. Jen Welter, who became the NFL’s first female coach in 2015.

The tournament will be staged in Vantaa, Finland from July 28-August 8. Vantaa is well versed in staging international football events having previously held the 2013 IFAF Women’s World Championship and the 2018 IFAF Men’s European Championship.

The event will not only be defined by excellence on the field of play but by a commitment to sustainability off it. IFAF (which recently partnered with leading sustainability body Play it Green), working with the host federation SAJL, is committed to establishing a carbon offsetting framework, a waste management program and delivering an education and training agenda to all attending personnel.

In addition, IFAF’s Athlete Commission will be holding elections at the Championship.

“The 2022 IFAF World Championship will offer a tremendous showcase for IFAF and our members,” said IFAF President Pierre Trochet. “On the field we will see exceptional talent competing for gold and off the field we have the opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to delivering greener events.”

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!