LIVESTREAM/PREVIEW: Mexico – Pumas, Tigres Set To Battle in ONEFA College Championship Game

The stage is set and the two teams which have dominated the ONEFA championship in Mexico for the past seven years will meet to decide a winner. The UNAM Pumas CU  have won the past two titles against the UANL Auténticos Tigres while Auténticos beat the Pumas in the previous two. In their only meeting this year, the Tigres prevailed 27-14 after watching as the Pumas roared back late in the game from a 27-0 deficit to score two straight touchdowns almost scoring a third.

Mexico - ONEFA - Tigres v Pumas - final poster
The Pumas are looking for their first three-peat since the 1940s but then as the Condors.

The last team to win three consecutive ONEFA titles  was the ITESM Borregos Salvajes who captured the crown in 2004, 2005 and 2006.

This will be a game pitting the team (Tigres) with the best offense  and defense (in points) against the team with the second best offense and defense. Although Los Auténticos Tigres are number one in both categories, the Pumas are not far behind them, with an offense that has improved each week.

Mexico - ONEFA semifinals - 2pic

The running game will be the key for UANL. If they establish it, they will alleviate pressure on the quarterback which will be critical. It is still not known whether starter Jesus Mata Charles will be able to at least start in the final. In the only meeting this year between the two, Tigres running back Joan Medina was outstanding and the Pumas must find a way to stop him.

That is why Pumas quarterbacks Rafael Arenas and José Miguel Chavez will have to play their best game of the season. And running back Allan Rosado needs to find his form from last week’s 48-14 semifinal win over the  UAdeC Lobos.

The Tigres offense has also struggled at times and they will be facing a Pumas defense which has steadily improved over the course of the season. This could be crucial as the Tigres have been slow to find an offensive rhythm at times this year.

Scores of previous finals between these two teams

2009:  UANL Auténticos Tigres  42 – UNAM Pumas 21 / University Stadium

2010: UNAM Pumas 31 – UANL Auténticos Tigres 21 / Olympic Stadium

2011: UANL Auténticos Tigres 16 – CU UNAM Pumas 15 / University Stadium

2012: UANL Auténticos Tigres 34 – CU UNAM Pumas 20 / Olympic Stadium

2013: UANL Auténticos Tigres 16 –  CU UNAM Pumas 28 / Stadium University

2014:  UNAM Pumas 21 –  UANL Auténticos Tigres 14 / Olympic Stadium

The only team to have won a final between the two as visitors was the Pumas.

Kickoff: Friday November 13, 7 PM (10 PM EST)

Link to original story.

Roger Kelly is an editor and a writer for AFI. A former PR Director the B.C. Lions of the Canadian Football League for 7 years, he now lives in Sweden writing about and scouting American Football throughout the world.