Northern European Football League almost set to kick off with 4 national champs – still looking

The reigning champions from Great Britain, Denmark, Sweden and Norway join NEFL in 2018.

The Northern European Football League – NEFL – will feature the champions of four different countries plus a national runner up when the league kicks off its schedule later in the spring.

The Carlstad Crusaders from Sweden, who reached the final in 2017 will face Norway’s 2017 champions the Oslo Vikings and possibly also Polish finalists the Gdynia Seahawks in one group. Meanwhile, Great Britain’s Tamworth Phoenix, who won the British title in 2017, will play the Copenhagen Towers from Denmark in the other group.

Helsinki Roosters dropped out

Originally, the defending NEFL champion Helsinki Roosters from Finland, had been scheduled to play but pulled out suddenly, apparently due to a scheduling conflict. NEFL officials are still searching to find a suitable replacement.

Which has posed a dilemma.

IFAF still an issue

The IFAF situation continues to cause problems for teams and organizers looking to arrange international competitions. With the absence of a final ruling by CAS, the Court of Arbitration for Sport in the case of which IFAF (New York or Paris) is the official governing body for international American football, organizers and teams face a dilemma. Since it seems that no one can state, unequivocally, who is in good standing, teams fear harsh reprisals from IFAF should they play in an “unsanctioned” event.

So finding a sixth team for the NEFL is proving to be more difficult than it should be.

Nevertheless, the lineup of teams is still impressive.

Carlstad, winners of eight straight Swedish titles, is no stranger to international play. They reached the NEFL final in 2017, losing in an overtime thriller to the Helsinki Roosters from Finland 21-15. The Oslo Vikings on the other hand, have not played in an international tournament for many years. The Vikings dominated the Norwegian league in 2017 winning the title game over the Eidsvoll 1814s, 51-7.

The third team in the NEFL East is possibly  Poland’s Gdynia Seahawks, winners of two Polish titles 92014, 2015) and runners up in 2016 and 2017. The Seahawks are in negotiations and  would be making their first foray into international competition.

England’s Tamworth Phoenix, upset winners of the British title, are also new to international play. The Copenhagen Towers are not new though. Copenhagen also played in the NEFL in 2017 losing to Carlstad and the London Warriors.

The league structure so far has five teams split into two groups.

The winner of each group will play for the NEFL Championship on a weekend which has yet to be decided.

Pending the addition of a sixth team, the groupings would be as follows:

NEFL West                                                                             NEFL East

Tamworth Phoenix  (Great Britain)                                    Carlstad Crusaders (Sweden)
Copenhagen Towers (Denmark)                                          Oslo Vikings (Norway)
Gdynia Seahawks (Poland)


American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!