Manila Rough Riders Capture 1st Philippine American Football League Crown

The Manila Rough Riders used a last-minute miscue by the Wolf Pack to their advantage and won the 1st Philippine American Football League title 22-20.

With the teams tied at 20-20, and the Wolf Pack attempting a potentially game-winning PAT, the Rough Riders player Will Yeh blocked the kicked and  then scooped up the ball and ran it all the way back for the two points.

The Rough Riders had relinquished a 20-7 halftime lead and the Wolf Pack had tied the game with a minute to go when Yeh shocked them with his 100 yard sprint.

Nicholas Patrick Garcia catching one of his 3 TDs

Nicholas Patrick Garcia scored all three touchdowns for the Rough Riders. Meanwhile, the Wolf Pack relied on their relentless ground game.

This was the first season for the PAFL following the demise of the Philippine Tackle Football League in late 2015.


Roger Kelly is an editor and a writer for AFI. A former PR Director the B.C. Lions of the Canadian Football League for 7 years, he now lives in Sweden writing about and scouting American Football throughout the world.