NOTE! New Kickoff times: IFAF U19 World Championships heading into 2nd round

The real tests of the 2018 IFAF U19 World Championships in Mexico City will start Wednesday, July 18 after two lopsided wins and one slightly more even win in the opening round of the tournament.

The United States, two-time winners of the tournament, in 2009 and 2014, were simply too much for the Australians, as they blanked them 38-0.

Quarterback Alek Jacobs accounted for three touchdowns to pace the Americans, who are looking to win the gold after losing to Team Canada in the final of the 2016 tournament in Harbin, China.

Team USA overcame a string of errors and turnovers including a pair of lost fumbles to secure the win.

The Americans head into the second round to face the host team, Mexico. The Mexicans have always managed to step up their game on their home field and although Team USA are the favorites, Mexico could surprise.

To qualify for this game, Mexico defeated Team Japan 31-14, taking control a tight game in the second half to score 21 points and cruise to the win. This was the fifth meeting between these two teams since the inaugural tournament in 2009. Mexico now holds the edge having won three and tied one. Japan won the initial game in 2009.

Team Canada, the defending champions, rolled over Sweden in the opening round, racing out to a 35-0 halftime lead and then holding off the Swedes for a 49-6 victory. With the win, Canada moves on the play Team Japan, in the second round.

Japan and Canada have only faced each other twice before in the U19 World Championships. In 2009, Canada won a tight battle, coming away with a 38-35 win. The game was also close in 2012 but Canada prevailed 33-24 in the semifinals.

The two losers of the one-sided games, Australia’s Team Outback, and Sweden, will battle it out in the third game on Wednesday. These two countries have never faced each other before in international competition. Sweden has competed in two U19 World Championships (2009 & 2012) and Australia one (2016).

The schedule for Wednesday, July 18:

10 AM (11 AM EST, 5 PM CEST)

Australia vs Sweden

1 PM (2 PM EST, 8 PM CEST)

Canada vs. Japan

4 PM (5 PM EST, 11 PM CEST)

USA vs Mexico 

The games will be livestreamed and presented by  Krown Countdown U, YareTV and American Football International. The livestream feed is being provided by Maximo Avance.

 

AFI
American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!
Skip to toolbar