List of the 2017 European Champions and how they won

The final European championships for 2017 were decided on the weekend with the German Bowl and Mermaid Bowl (Denmark) both finishing up.

Let’s take a look back at the 25 champions from each country and the Eurobowl, Central European Football League and Northern European Football League champions. Click on the links for a recap of each championship game.



The Brussels Black Angels won Belgian Bowl XXX defeating the Brussels Tigers 27-20.

Central European Football League

The Swarco Raiders won CEFl Bowl XII, – the title game of the Central European Football League – by overwhelming the Kragujevac Wild Boars from Serbia 55-20 in Innsbruck, Austriain front of 3,500 fans at Tivoli Stadium.

Czech Republic

The Prague Black Panthers won their fifth straight Czech title by downing the Ostrava Steelers 28-0 in Under Armour Czech Bowl XXIV



The Braunschweig New Yorker Lions are the kings of Europe, again, after winning their third consecutive Eurobowl championship – Eurobowl XXXI – easily beating the Frankfurt Universe 55-14 in front of  crowd of 7,200 disappointed fans in Frankfurt.


The Helsinki Roosters took their sixth straight Finnish title beating the Wasa Royals 37-9 to win Maple Bowl XXXVIII.


The La Courneuve Flash defeated the Thonon Black Panthers 44-40 to win the French championship.


The Schwabisch Hall Unicorns won their 3rd German title by edging the Braunschweig New Yorker Lions 14-13.

Great Britain

The Tamworth Phoenix became historic as they knocked off the London Blitz 34-28 to win Britbowl XXXI.


The Budapest Cowbells downed the defending champion Miskolc Steelers 14-10 to win their second ever Hungarian title.


The Amsterdam Crusaders went undefeated in 2017 and then whipped the 010 Trojans from Rotterdam 33-13 to capture their 19th Dutch title.


The Dublin Rebels defended their Irish title by beating the Carrickfergus Knights 12-6 to win Shamrock Bowl XXXI.


The Jerusalem Lions downed the Tel Aviv Pioneers 42-36 in OT to win Israel Bowl X, to capture their first ever title.


Northern European Football League

It took the Helsinki Roosters a full first half of football to adjust, but adjust they did in the second half of the NEFL title game, finally beating the hometown Carlstad Crusaders in overtime 21-15.


Photo: Max Emanuelson

The Oslo Vikings overwhelmed the Eidsvoll 1814s 51-7 to win their second straight Norwegian title.


The Wroclaw Panthers scored the last 28 points of SuperFinal XII on Sunday evening in Łódź to break open a tight contest and secure their second straight Topliga championship in a 55-21 triumph over the Gdynia Seahawks.


The Lisboa Devils captured their second straight Portuguese championship in beating the Maia Renegades 40-35.


The Cluj Crusaders captured the 2017 Romanian title for the first time in three years after defeating the Bucharest Warriors 17-12 in RoBowl VIII in Buftea, on the outskirts of the country’s capital city, Bucharest in +30 degree heat.


The Moscow Patriots won the Russian title for the third time in four years beating the St. Petersburg Griffins 24-6.


The Kragujevac Wild Boars won their second straight Serbian title beating the Novi Sad Dukes 24-16. 


The Bratislava Monarchs won the Slovakian championship by trouncing the Zilina Warriors 59-12.


The Badalona Dracs outgunned the Reus Imperials 56-14 to capture their second straight Spanish championship.


The Carlstad Crusaders captured the eighth consecutive Swedish championship by downing the Orebro Black Knights 24-0. 




The Koc Rams went undefeated for the second year in a row in Turkey and beat the Sakarya Tatankalari 56-14 in the championship final .


The Uzhgorod Lumberjacks capped an undefeated season by beating the Kiev Bandits 44-30 in the championship final.

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!