NFL announces Super Bowl LVII officiating crew; five of eight officials have prior SB experience

With less than three weeks remaining until Super Bowl LVII, the NFL has announced the officiating crew for the season’s biggest game.

The following officials will oversee the final contest of the 2022 season, which will take place at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona on Feb. 12:

Referee: Carl Cheffers (LIV, LII)

Umpire: Roy Ellison (LIII, XLII)

Down Judge: Jerod Phillips

Line Judge: Jeff Bergman (LIIII, XXXI)

Field Judge: John Jenkins

Side Judge: Eugene Hall (LIV, LIIII)

Back Judge: Dino Paganelli (LIV, XLVII)

Replay Official: Mark Butterworth

Of the eight officials, five (Cheffers, Ellison, Bergman, Hall, Paganelli) have a combined decade of experience in the Super Bowl, as indicated by the numbers next to their names.

Super Bowl LVI will feature the winners of Championship Sunday. The Philadelphia Eagles will host the San Francisco 49ers at 3 p.m. ET for the NFC title, and the visiting Cincinnati Bengals will face the Kansas City Chiefs at 6:30 p.m. ET once again for the AFC crown.

The National Football League (NFL) is a professional American football league consisting of 32 teams, divided equally between the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC). The NFL is one of the four major