Northern European Football League announces schedule

The Northern European Football LeagueNEFL – has announced its schedule for 2018 and it features the national champions of four different nations.

The NEFL will have the leading teams from Denmark, Sweden, Norway and Great Britain going head to head, all with their sights set on the NEFL Championship title. The winners of the 2017 NEFL, the Helsinki Roosters, will not compete in 2018. The Gdynia Seahawks who had been originally announced as one of the teams, opted out.

Representing Great Britain will be the surprising and reigning BritBowl Champions, the Tamworth Phoenix.

This will be the first foray into international competition for the Phoenix who not only defeated the London Blitz in the championship final, but also knocked off the four-time champion London Warriors in the semifinals.

Alongside the Northern British club in the NEFL are some of northern Europe’s powerhouse club sides. The eight-time and defending champions of Sweden, the Carlstad Crusaders are joined by their Norwegian counterparts, the Oslo  Vikings, as well as defending and multi Danish champions, the Copenhagen Towers.

The NEFL will be a round-robin tournament in which all four teams will play each other once to determine the winner.  The top team in the NEFL will then face off against the winner of the Central European Football League in a Super final on July 1.

April 14

Oslo Vikings – Copenhagen Towers 12 Noon (Oslo)

April 28

Oslo Vikings – Carlstad Crusaders 3 pm (Oslo)

Copenhagen Towers – Tamworth Phoenix TBA (Copenhagen)

May 12

Tamworth Phoenix – Carlstad Crusaders 6 pm (Birmingham)

June 9

Carlstad Crusaders – Copenhagen Towers 1 pm (Carlstad)

Tamworth Phenix – Oslo Vikings TBA (Birmingham) 



American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!