Swedish Superserien kicks off 2024 season with 8 team league

The Swedish Superserien kicks off this weekend after doubling the number of teams in the league from four to eight, a clear indication of the growth in popularity of the game.

This year, the reigning Swedish champion Stockholm Mean Machines will be challenged by AIK (from Stockholm), the Carlstad Crusaders, Kristianstad Predators, Limhamn Griffins, Tyresö Royal Crowns and Örebro Black Knights as well as for the first time ever, the defending Norwegian champions, the Oslo Vikings.

All games in the Superserien will be broadcast live on SWE3 Play (PPV) and the Championship Game will be held at Tyresövallen in Tyresö on July 6.

Stockholm Mean Machines (2023 record – 8-0 – Swedish champions)

The Mean Machines are the defending Swedish champions and winners of four of the last six titles having the reached the final every year since 2018.

Tyresö Royal Crowns (2023 Record – 5-3 – Finished 2nd)

Tyresö reached the final but were beaten by Stockholm. This was their straight second year back in the top league (2022, 2023) after a six year absence. They played from 2007-2017 and from 1998-2004.

Örebro Black Knights (2023 record – 1-6 – Finished 3rd)

The Black Knights reached the semifinals in 2023 but were knocked out by the Mean Machines. The team has spent a total of 22 seasons in the top league, third most in history. They won their first and only title in 2021.

Carlstad Crusaders (2023 Record – 1-5 – Finished 4th)

The Carlstad Crusaders will be looking to rebound from a dismal season in 2023 which saw them finish out of the playoffs for the first time since 1998. They won eight straight titles from 2010 to 2017.

Oslo Vikings (2023 Record – 5-0 in Norway – Norwegian champions)

The Oslo Vikings are playing in the Swedish Superserien for the first time ever after winning the Norwegian title for the sixth time in the last seven years in 2023.

Limhamn Griffins (2023 Record – Promoted from Div. 1)

Limhamn were promoted from Division 1 after finishing the season unbeaten and then defeating the Ystad Rockets to qualify for the top league. They have spent a total of 17 years in the Superserien including from 2014-2017, 2006-2008, 2002, and 1991-1998. They have won the title three times, 2007, 1994 and 1993.

Kristianstad Predators (2023 Record – Promoted from Div. 1)

The Predators were promoted from Division 1 after  finishing second and then defeating the Karlskoga Wolves to qualify. They spent one season in the Superserien (2015) when they finished sixth with a 4-6 record.

AIK Stockholm (2023 Record – Promoted from Div. 1)

AIK spent nine seasons in the Superserien (2008-2016) but as the STU Northside Bulls before they were relegated to Division 1 again and became part of the AIK organization. Their best season was 2012 when they finished fourth with a 6-4 record and were eliminated in the semifinals by the Tyresö Royal Crowns.

American Football International is your source for news and updates about American Football outside the United States!